FOR RELEASE 07/21/2010 (Wednesday) No. 10-18

> FedRelay 1 (800) 877-8339 www.stb.gov

PUBLIC & MEDIA ADVISORY: SURFACE TRANSPORTATION BOARD PROVIDES SCHEDULE OF SPEAKERS' APPEARANCES FOR JULY 29 PUBLIC HEARING ON CASE INVOLVING COAL-DUST ISSUE

The Surface Transportation Board announced today a schedule of speakers' appearances and their time allocations for the Board's **July 29, 2010** public hearing on a case centering on whether a railroad may deny service to coal shippers who do not follow the railroad's rules on coal-dust dispersal.

The Thursday, July 29 hearing will begin at 9:30 a.m. in the Board's Hearing Room on the 1st Floor of the agency's headquarters at Patriot's Plaza, 395 E Street, S.W., Washington, D.C.

The Board announced the hearing by an official agency decision served June 10, 2010, and by a news release dated June 9, 2010. Today's decision issuing the schedule of speakers' appearances and time allocations in <u>Arkansas Electric Cooperative Corporation—Petition for Declaratory Order, Docket No. FD 35305</u>, is available for viewing and downloading from the Board's Web site, at http://www.stb.dot.gov, under "E-LIBRARY" on the home page, then under "Decisions & Notices," beneath the date "07/21/10."

The hearing will be webcast via the agency's site under "Information Center" / "Webcast" / "Live Video" on the home page.

###

Attachment (speakers' list)

Attachment

Surface Transportation Board Public Hearing on <u>Arkansas Electric Cooperative</u> <u>Corporation—Petition for Declaratory Order</u>, Docket No. FD 35305 (the "Coal-Dust Issue")

SCHEDULE OF APPEARANCES

Party / Speaker / Time Allotted (minutes)

Panel I: Government

United States Department of Transportation / Paul Samuel Smith / 5

Panel II: Carriers

BNSF Railway Company / Samuel M. Sipe, Jr., Richard E. Weicher, Gregory C. Fox / 30

Union Pacific Railroad Company / Louise Anne Rinn / 15

Panel III: Shipper Interests

Arkansas Electric Cooperative Corporation / Eric Von Salzen / 30

Western Coal Traffic League / John H. LeSeur / 10

Concerned Captive Coal Shippers / C. Michael Loftus / 10

National Coal Transportation Association / Thomas W. Wilcox / 10

American Public Power Association, Edison Electric Institute, National Rural Electric Cooperative Association / Michael F. McBride / 10

Panel IV: Rebuttal

BNSF Railway Company / Samuel M. Sipe, Jr., Richard E. Weicher, Gregory C. Fox / 10

Arkansas Electric Cooperative Corporation / Eric Von Salzen / 10

###